TS Logo



Premier Educational Institutions in India


The higher education system in India includes both private and public universities. Public universities are supported by the Government of India and the state governments, while private universities are mostly supported by various bodies and societies. Universities in India are recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC), which draws its power from the University Grants Commission Act, 1956. In addition, 16 Professional Councils are established, controlling different aspects of accreditation and coordination. The types of universities controlled by the UGC include Central universities, State universities, Deemed universities and Private universities


In addition to the above universities, other institutions are granted the permission to autonomously award degrees, and while not called "university" by name, act as such. They usually fall under the administrative control of the Department of Higher Education. In official documents they are called "autonomous bodies", "university-level institutions", or even simply "other central institutions".


Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) 

are a group of autonomous information technology oriented institutes with special funding and administration. The Indian Institutes of Information Technology Act lists four central (at Gwalior, Allahabad, Kancheepuram and Jabalpur) and sixteen PPP IIITs. The List of original IIIT's (Indian Institute of IT).


Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) 

are a group of autonomous engineering and technology-oriented institutes with special funding and administration. The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 lists sixteen IITs


School of Planning and Architecture (SPAs) 

are a group of architecture and planning schools established by Ministry of HRD, Government of India. All the SPAs are premier centrally funded institution.


National Institutes of Technology (NITs) 

are a group of engineering, science, technology and management schools which were established as "Regional Engineering Colleges" and upgraded in 2003 to national status and central funding. The latest act governing NITs is the National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007 which declared them Institutes of National Importance.


Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs) 

are a group of five institutes established by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, devoted to science education and research in basic sciences. They are broadly set on the lines of the Indian Institute of Science.


Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST)

situated at Thiruvananthapuram functions as an autonomous body under the Department of Space. The institute is the first of its kind in the country, to offer high quality education at the undergraduate, graduate, doctoral and post doctoral levels on areas with special focus to space sciences, space technology and space applications.


Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs)

 are a group of business schools created by the Government of India. IIMs are registered Societies governed by their respective Board of Governors.


XLRI - Xavier Labour Research Institute, Jamshedpur

Xavier Labour Research Institute, popularly known as XLRI was established in 1949 at Jamshedpur. One of the top B schools in India in the private sector, the institute offers courses at the post graduation level in management .


ISB - Indian School of Business, Hyderabad & Mohali

Indian School of Business, Hyderabad and Mohali has emerged as the preferred choice for MBA aspirants who want to pack in their MBA program into a one year course. The ISB has created a unique and sustainable visiting faculty model with some of the world's leading academicians from Wharton, Kellogg, Harvard, Stanford, Chicago, Duke and Texas among others. This top B school of India offers a one year Post Graduate Program in Management.


FMS - Faculty of Management Studies, University of Delhi

FMS is among the top 10 B-Schools in India and probably one of the two attached to a university among the 10 top b schools of India. The full time program of FMS started in 1967. Being a part of Delhi University, the MBA program offered by FMS is the most affordable program by an Indian B School that features among the top B schools of India.


S. P. Jain Institute of Management Studies, Mumbai (SPJIMR)

Another top b school of India located in Mumbai - the business capital of India - S.P.Jain's PGDM programme offers the following specialisation in the second year (fourth and fifth trimester). Finance Management, Marketing Management, Information Management and Operations Management. Applicants have to select the specialization at the application stage. In addition, SP Jain also offers the following full time residential programs - PGPM, GMP, PGMPW, and FPM.


Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT)

A top b school of India focusing on foreign trade, IIFT has two campuses in India - New Delhi and Kolkatta. IIFT offers the following programs: 2-year full-time MBA, Executive Masters in International Business and a 3-year part-time MBA program. Admission to Indian students is on the basis of Written test, Essay write-up, Group Discussion and Interview.


Management Development Institute, Gurgaon (MDI)

Among the top management institutes in India, MDI offers a two year Post Graduate Program in Management (PGPM). The curriculum is spread over six terms of about three months each. The core curriculum is spread over four terms with the bulk of it covered in the first three terms. In addition to its flagship PGPM program, MDI offers PGP-HR and PGP-International Management, a Fellow program and Executive Post Graduate Programs. Admission is through CAT followed by a Written Analysis Test and GDPI for shortlisted candidates.


National Law Universities (NLU) 

are universities established for promotion of legal research and legal profession in India. There are around 15 National Law Universities in India which are autonomous in nature. The prominent among them are National Law School of India University, NALSAR University of Law and W.B. National University of Juridical Sciences.


All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) 

are a group of autonomous public medical colleges of higher education and are established by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, with the aim of correcting regional imbalances in quality tertiary level healthcare in the country, and attaining self-sufficiency in graduate and postgraduate medical education.


Christian Medical College, Vellore

Christian Medical College in Vellore has become an epitome of education in the health care sector of India. Right from its inception, the college has gained significant ground in terms of enhancing the way medical education is imparted to students

 thus raising the overall standards in this domain.


Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER), Puducherry

JIPMER ranks amongst the top medical institutions in India and is an autonomous body that includes a tertiary care hospital too. The college has been providing quality education to students and has been responsible for setting numerous research trends in the field of health care.


Copyright© 2020 Setwin Professional Team, All Rights Reserved.